random posts
You are here: Home / Odd Stuff / New and Old Seven Wonders of the World

New and Old Seven Wonders of the World

In 2006, Federico Mayor Zaragoza (Unesco’s last General Secretary) led the jury that picked out the 21 canditates to represent global heritage. Since then almost 100 million people have been voting via phone or Internet. The website New 7 Wonders was one of the most popular sites during the voting.

The new wonders were presented on a live gala in Lisboa, Portugal, on Saturday Night. The winners? The Great Wall in China, the city Petra in Jordan, the Statue of Christ (Christ Redeemer) in Brazil, Chichén Itzá in Mexico, Colloseum in Italy, Machu Picchu in Peru and Taj Mahal in India.

Some of the candidates that didn’t make it to the end were Angkor Wat in Cambodia, Alhambra in Spain, the Statue of Liberty in USA and Stonehenge in United Kingdom. 

Many people are familiar with the phrase “The Seven Wonders of the World” but most could not name what they are. In no particular order, they are:

1) The Great Pyramid of Giza
2) The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
3) The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
4) The Lighthouse at Alexandria
5) The Colossus of Rhodes
6) The Statue of Zeus at Olympia
7) The Temple of Artemis at Ephesus

Old Ancient Wonders of the world:

Now New official wonders of the World

1. Petra (Jordan)



About admin

Khalid Janjua is a business owner and entrepreneur from Manchester, United Kingdom. Khalid is currently working on Saturn-Tec, a website which provides design & cheap web solutions. Follow Khalid on Twitter: @hybridlava. Follow the development of @saturntec.
Scroll To Top